Star Trek Attack Wing: The Collective OP3 “The Battle for Sector 001”

Today I participated and volunteered at a local stores Star trek Attack Wing Tournament in Coventry.  Young’s Hobbies were running The Collective OP Month 3 event “The Battle for Sector 001”.  Scott Young runs the tourney and Im there as rules support/TO.

There was quite a good mix of abilities and experiences of the players, only Scott, Daniel Ryan, Ashton Batchelor and I had played in all the other events in this OP Series so far.  My biggest competition could not attend so the path was clear for me to win the series overall.  As a TO and volunteer I dont take prizes or payment in any way and I actually pay the same as they players so I run competitive fleets.

I had a number of options to run in todays tournament…..I had…Federation/Dominion with Officer Exchange Program (OEP) using Intrepids and a reliant, Klingon Pure with Vor’Cha and K’Vort, Klingon/Romulan OEP with Vor’Cha, Dominion/Indepednent, Klingon/Independent, Klingon Pure 2 with only Vor’Cha, Breen Pure, Romulan Pure using Interphase Generators, Federation Pure with Fighters, Independent Pure with Lores Meat Gringer, Mirror Universe/Independent OEP using Negh’Var and Assimilation Target Prime, Kling Pure 3 using Changs BoP and Torpedos, Dominion Pure with Triple Keldons & Fighters, Romulan/Federation OEP and Dom Pure with assimilated Galor.

Armed with enough ships to sink a battleship Hairy Gamer Tris and I set off for Youngs Hobbies.

Tris took the following:-

Chang’s Bird-of-Prey (22)
Chang (4)
Surrender as Ordered (4)
Kunivas (2)
Photon Torpedoes (5)
Ship SP: 37

Vor’cha Class (26)
Martok (5)
Klingon Flagship (10)
Defense Condition One (5)
Drex (4)
Ship SP: 40

Vor’cha Class (26)
Nu’Daq (3)
N’Garen (4)
Ship SP: 33

Total Build SP: 120

I went with:-

Resource: Hideki Class Attack Fighters (20)

Cardassian Keldon Class (24)
Gul Dukat (5)
Ship SP: 29

Cardassian Keldon Class (24)
Luaran (2)
Boheeka (0)
Ship SP: 26

Cardassian Keldon Class (24)
Sar (1)
Ship SP: 25

Dominion Attack Fighters (20)
Ship SP: 20

Both builds dropped a lot of attack dice but Tris’ relied on getting good defence from Cloak and moving free actions around from Martok to Nu’Daq and Chang.  Mine was relying on my fighters soaking up some damage and hitting hard and fast.

The other players fielded fleets as follows and I’ll post a comment for each fleet below:-

Scott Young – Mirror Universe

Ashton Batchelor & Daniel Ryan – Federation

Aaron James – Borg

A hard fought afternoon was undertaken and eventually I was declared the not only the winner of the event with 3 wins out of 3 with an almost perfect record but the winner of the series with 8 wins out of 9 and a total of 29 out of a possible 33 Battle Points overall.

Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 Star Trek Attack Wing The Collective - The Battle for Sector 001 Results

1 – Jason 29 (Admiral)

2 – Daniel Ryan 17 (Vice Admiral)

3 – Ashton Batchelor 16 (Rear Admiral)

4 – Daniel “Orky Dan” Thomas 15 (Commodore)

5 – Scott Young 12 (Fleet Captain)

6 – Andy McGarry 11 (Captain)

=7 – Tris Taylor 10 (Commander)

=7 – Anthony Marsden 10 (Commander)

=9 – Nigel Thomas 6 (Lieutenant)

=9 – Aaron James 6 (Lieutenant)

11 – Kevin Roberts 5 (Ensign)

=12 – Owen Cartwright 4 (Ensign JG)

=12 – Nic Harbut 4 (Ensign JG)

We had to have a roll off to see who won between Ashton and Tris as both fleets were wiped out by the Borg Cube Token and neither player scored enough damage to beat it.  This was missed during the tourney as we scored it as a Tie.  So I rolled for each on their behalf and and recorded the results.  In the end it was Tris who scored 1 Battlestation on 5 dice and Ashton who got 3.  That game went to Ashton.

Tris Taylor’s Roll Off Video

Ashton Batchelor’s Roll Off Video

4 thoughts on “Star Trek Attack Wing: The Collective OP3 “The Battle for Sector 001”

  1. Aaron James’ Borg Fleet:-

    Queen Vessel Prime (42)
    Drone (0)
    Ship SP: 42

    Tactical Cube 138 (46)
    Third of Five (2)
    Ship SP: 48

    Assimilated Vessel 64758 (30)
    Drone (0)
    Ship SP: 30


  2. Scott Young’s Mirror Universe Fleet:-

    Regent’s Flagship (32)
    Miles O’Brien (3)
    Aft Phaser Emitter (0)
    Ship SP: 35

    USS Enterprise-D (28)
    William T. Riker (4)
    Indy/Rom Fleet Captain (5)
    Rebellion (0)
    Aft Phaser Emitter (0)
    Ship SP: 37

    ISS Defiant (24)
    Mirror Universe Captain (0)
    Ship SP: 24

    ISS Enterprise (22)
    Worf (2)
    Ship SP: 24


  3. Ashton Batchelor’s Federation Fleet:-

    USS Enterprise-E (32)
    William T. Riker (4)
    Indy/Fed Fleet Captain (5)
    Elizabeth Shelby (2)
    Quantum Torpedoes (6)
    Ship SP: 49

    U.S.S Yeager (22)
    Jean-Luc Picard (6)
    Geordi La Forge (4)
    Reginald Barclay (4)
    Photon Torpedoes (4)
    Ship SP: 40

    USS Raven (16)
    Magnus Hansen (2)
    Reserch Mission (3)
    Multi-Adaptive Shields (5)
    Reinforced Structural Integrity (5)
    Ship SP: 31


  4. Daniel Ryan’s Federation Fleet:-

    USS Enterprise-E (32)
    James T. Kirk (6)
    Indy/Fed Fleet Captain (5)
    Cheat Death (0)
    Quantum Torpedoes (6)
    Ship SP: 49

    U.S.S Enterprise (22)
    Mr. Spock (4)
    Quantum Torpedoes (6)
    Ship SP: 32

    U.S.S. Defiant (24)
    Jean-Luc Picard (6)
    Adm. Maxwell Forrest (3)
    Quantum Torpedoes (6)
    Ship SP: 39


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s